Live in VA, orders to DC

The Code of Virginia is not preemptible by local statute

Live in VA, orders to DC

Postby SnakeWIthAGun » Sat, 07 Apr 2018 20:01:24

Hey everyone! I've been trying to chase this down to see how I can legally acquire a new pistol. I know that since I am 'not a resident' of VA due to orders putting me in DC and purchasing a pistol is almost impossible. I cannot purchase anything but long guns with my IN license at a VA gun shop.

I am a resident t of IN. Is it possible to purchase a pistol in IN and have it transferred to an FFL in VA and take possession of it? They won't sell me a gun here, could they at least take the 25-30 bucks and hand it to me?

I know, I know. By law I am a DC Resident (such dirty words) but could I go home and purchase a pistol and get it transferred to a VA FFL is what I am asking.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image

Active, Reserve or Veteran of the United States Navy   National Rifle Association (NRA) Member  
SnakeWIthAGun
On Target
On Target

My Arsenal:
self built AR15
Taurus PT809

Re: Live in VA, orders to DC

Postby MarcSpaz » Sat, 07 Apr 2018 20:11:23

If you live in Virgina and have a Virginia IS showing your place of residence in Virginia, than you can execute a firearms transfer in Va...

I'm not sure there is any way around that for handguns. I would talk to an NFL and see what they say about it.

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Virginia Citizens Defense League (VCDL) Member  
MarcSpaz
VGOF Platinum Supporter
VGOF Platinum Supporter

First Name: Marc

My Arsenal:
Franks and Beans

Postby SnakeWIthAGun » Sat, 07 Apr 2018 20:16:31

What is VA IS? I own a house and pay taxes, utilites, etc.

Is there anything preventing a private party transfer? (Don't worry, not looking for any syltrawman purchase type of things)

Active, Reserve or Veteran of the United States Navy   National Rifle Association (NRA) Member  
SnakeWIthAGun
On Target
On Target

My Arsenal:
self built AR15
Taurus PT809