Drinking While Carrying

The Code of Virginia is not preemptible by local statute

Drinking While Carrying

Postby jthrelf » Mon, 12 Dec 2016 13:59:26

Hello All,

I'm a Pennsylvania resident and planning some vacation time in VA in the Shenandoah Valley region. As such, I plan on visiting some different wineries. Is there a law on the books prohibiting any sort of alcohol consumption? To be clear, this isn't about getting intoxicated or having multiple drinks. This is more about wine tasting or one drink with dinner. I do plan on carrying concealed, rather than open.

I've read the handgunlaw.us Virginia page, and it says carrying in restaurants that serve alchohol is ok. But it doesn't go into detail about: carrying in bars (is a winery different?), consumption, etc.

For context, PA has no laws related to alcohol or carrying in bars/restaurants. My usual protocol is to, similarly to above, have only one drink with dinner while carrying.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Second Amendment Foundation (SAF) Member  
jthrelf
Pot Shot
Pot Shot

Re: Drinking While Carrying

Postby wittmeba » Mon, 12 Dec 2016 14:35:51

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_Res ... ealed.shtm

Any person granted a concealed handgun permit who is under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs while carrying such weapon in a public place shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Prohibited Conduct and Where Unlawful to Carry - Section 18.2-308.012