Blatent violation of Virginia State Law by Albemarle County?

Hey, where would we be without rules?
New members, please take a moment to read here.

Blatent violation of Virginia State Law by Albemarle County?

Postby Alex » Tue, 20 Sep 2011 13:49:36

Hello fellow gun owners,

I am a resident of Albemarle County (Think Charlottesville Area) and I applied for my concealed handgun permit on 15 August 2011. (I know that my 45 day time period is still in effect.) I have a completely clean criminal record, and have never even recieved a speeding ticket. Now I was out in Charlottesville today, and was in the area of the county circut court. I decided to stop by and check in on my permit application, as it seems to be taking quite a while. While there, I was told very bluntly (but not really impolitely) that I should have been told it would take 4-6 weeks when I applied (which I was) and that I shouldn't be bothering them asking about my permit. I decided that this was going nowhere, so I turned to leave. I then remembered some VA State code, regarding the permits, and I asked the person working the counter that they were required by law to issue a permit after 45 days, if the applicant hadn't been disqualified? He informed me quite rudely that they "Weren't "Required" to do anything of the sort, and that the State said they "Could" do so." I said "Ahh, thanks anyway" and left, not wanting to make a scene. He told me on my way out, that If I hadn't recieved my permit or been rejected within "60 or so days" then I should call back and bug them about it.

Interesting.

When I got home this afternoon, I took a walk through VA gun laws, and came across exactly what I was looking for: