How to Legally Acquire AR?

Post your (General Firearms Related) question and it's likely that someone can give you the answer

How to Legally Acquire AR?

Postby tperk100 » Sun, 10 Jul 2016 16:37:13

I am a VA resident and my son is a NYC resident. He wants to acquire an AR, even if I have to keep it here for him. Can anyone suggest a legal, not too complicated way to accomplish this? We want to avoid NY / NYC's requirements if possible.

Thanks
Tom P in Sunny Virginia Beach

Active, Reserve or Veteran of the United States Navy   National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Gun Owners of America (GOA) Member  
tperk100
Marksman
Marksman

First Name: Tom

Re: How to Legally Acquire AR?

Postby M1A4ME » Sun, 10 Jul 2016 19:08:50

If it will be kept in your home why don't you buy it for yourself and let him borrow it when he comes to visit and you guys go shooting?

Not sure how the "gift" thing works. I mean you buy it and give it to him for a birthday or Christmas gift.

I'm sure if you buy it for yourself and keep it in your house and he shoots it at the range (public or private) when he comes to visit then that is legal.

M1A4ME
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

Postby SpanishInquisition » Sun, 10 Jul 2016 19:16:41

You buying it specifically for him is technically a straw purchase and not legal.

Buy one for yourself and let him shoot it when he visits.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member  
SpanishInquisition
VGOF Bronze Supporter
VGOF Bronze Supporter

First Name: NobodyExpectsThe

My Arsenal:
Amongst our weaponry are such diverse elements as fear, surprise, ruthless efficiency, an almost fanatical devotion to the Pope, and nice red uniforms!

However...for now, let's jut say I'm exercising my second amendment rights, m'kay?

Postby tperk100 » Sun, 10 Jul 2016 22:11:08