why is it necessary for a ffl to ship a gun to a shop.....

General discussion - Feel free to discuss anything you want here. Firearm related is preferred, but not required

why is it necessary for a ffl to ship a gun to a shop.....

Postby davasmith » Wed, 21 Mar 2012 07:25:40

I contacted a man in montana about coloring a pistol for me, its the one my daughter wants pink with camo grips. He told me i'd have to send it to him through a ffl. Why? I'm not purchasing the firearm from him, I am just having some work done on it. He says it would take 150.00 to overnight the gun back and forth. Just curious as I have never done this before.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image

davasmith
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter

First Name: Joshua

My Arsenal:
A sharp wit, and a big stick.... shhhh...

Next Firearm:
Class 3 Form 4 ???

Re: why is it necessary for a ffl to ship a gun to a shop.....

Postby dorminWS » Wed, 21 Mar 2012 09:23:55

As I understand it, you don't need an FFL to send a gun to a gunsmith for repair or upgrade.

I just sent a Colt Commander to Flagstaff, AZ for a 1* build. I sent it directly to them by regular FedEx 1-day service. It arrived the next day and it cost less than $20.

Draw your own conclusions about the guy in Montana.
"The Bill of Rights is what the people are entitled to against every government, and what no just government should refuse, or rest on inference."
-Thomas Jefferson

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Virginia Citizens Defense League (VCDL) Member   Gun Owners of America (GOA) Member  
dorminWS
VGOF Platinum Supporter
VGOF Platinum Supporter

First Name: G2

My Arsenal:
I don't think it's a good idea to put that online. WHO KNOWS who's checking? I love big-caliber and longe-range rifles and 1911 pistols, and I've got a few.

Next Firearm:
I can always use another 1911.

Postby davasmith » Wed, 21 Mar 2012 09:49:16

Yeah that's what I was thinking. Damn have to start over now. Thanks

davasmith
Sharp Shooter
Sharp Shooter