New Scope Mount Needed

General discussion - Feel free to discuss anything you want here. Firearm related is preferred, but not required

New Scope Mount Needed

Postby MarcSpaz » Fri, 12 Jan 2018 19:37:12

I have been using American Defense QD mounts for 7 years now. I had one fail on me today while at the range.

I was getting in a little "Me Time" with my RPR and the group was all over the place. I tried to move things around and everything seemed fine, so I sent another partial mag down range, but it was off by inches at 100 yards.

I checked all the ring screws, which were fine, and the QD levers. The front was fine but the back was loose. I tightened it up and sent a few round down range, but it was all over the place. I found the rear lever was loose again, only this time, I couldn't tighten it because the threads were blown out.

American Defense sells replacement levers. It's a $200 mount and the lever is $22. I'm going to fix it, but I'm wondering if I should switch to a different mount type. The scope has been on and off a few different rifles... maybe close to 50 moves/remounts. I'm fairly sure I popped the threads by over-tightening the lever and exposure to a ton of recoil.

I'm wondering what you guys use for mounts, and if they have seen heavy use like mine has, how are they holding up? I like the QD mounts so if there is an optic failure, I can quickly and easily swap to backup sights. But if the QDs features introduce the failure point... that's a drag too.

Oh, I am looking to work my way out to 1,000 yards this year. I am going to get a new mount with MOA built-in. For a 6.5 Creedmoor, using a scope with 7.5 feet FOV at max zoom at 100 yards, and 110 MOA hight adjustment, is 20 MOA appropriate for my setup? Should I stay level? Go more aggressive, like 30 MOA?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Virginia Citizens Defense League (VCDL) Member  
MarcSpaz