Looking To Practice On Private NOVA Land

General discussion - Feel free to discuss anything you want here. Firearm related is preferred, but not required

Looking To Practice On Private NOVA Land

Postby kelly1244 » Sat, 14 Oct 2017 19:52:27

Good evening all -

Apologies, as this is my first post here. I've been lurking for a while (helped me figure out which guns to purchase!) and I've got a question for everyone.

I just recently acquired a Ruger AR-556. I'm looking to test fire/practice with this Rifle (as well as plink a few rounds off my 9mm) before I take it to a range. I'm a Fairfax resident, and I admit that some of the ranges out this way are a bit intimidating... I'd like to try to familiarize myself with the new rifle in a more quiet/intimate setting - would also like to make sure my sights are good before I hit an indoor range. Ideally, I'd like to bring my father along - I would like to teach him how to fire, as well.

With this in mind, I was wondering if anyone could guide me with respect to VA laws. I know you can't fire on property that isn't privately owned, and that it has to be within a certain distance of residential areas to be considered legal. Can anyone recommend a preferred "quiet spot" - or better yet, would anyone be willing to offer a spot up on their own land? Would be willing to drive about an hour - hour and half or so to any radius around me. Also willing to compensate you fairly for your time/space.

Thanks in advance!

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Second Amendment Foundation (SAF) Member  
kelly1244
Pot Shot
Pot Shot

My Arsenal:
Taurus PT111 Millennium, Ruger 9E 9mm, and a Ruger AR-556

Re: Looking To Practice On Private NOVA Land

Postby kelly1244 » Sat, 14 Oct 2017 20:13:42

I'm 31, by the way... Dad is 62. I can provide any necessary/preferred documents to prove that I own the weapons, as well.

National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Second Amendment Foundation (SAF) Member  
kelly1244
Pot Shot
Pot Shot