Denied a permit in Fairfax County

Open Carry and Concealed Carry. Where did you carry today?

Denied a permit in Fairfax County

Postby froughtie » Thu, 12 Nov 2015 20:52:07

I just received a notice that my CHL permit was denied by a Fairfax County judge because my existing permit from Texas has a VA address on it.

I'm a former TX resident and CHL holder now living in Fairfax county. Texas requires all permit holders to update their addresses, so when I moved here, I sent them my new address and they sent me a new permit with a VA address on it.
Obviously Texas has reciprocity agreements with VA, so the license is valid here, but the judge apparently took some sort of exception to the fact that I had a VA address and denied my permit?

Is this legal? and what are my options?
Thanks

froughtie
Pot Shot
Pot Shot

Re: Denied a permit in Fairfax County

Postby allingeneral » Thu, 12 Nov 2015 21:47:30

Believe you need to appeal the decision within 21 days. Read through the information at the following link and follow some of the links within to review specific Code of Virginia laws.

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_Res ... htm#Denied
Please consider a DONATION to VGOF to help cover our operating costs

Active, Reserve or Veteran of the United States Navy   National Rifle Association (NRA) Member   Virginia Citizens Defense League (VCDL) Member  
allingeneral
Site Admin
Site Admin

First Name: Rick

My Arsenal:
Ruger 10/22
S&W 4043 .40
Daly 1911 .45
Mossberg 500 12Ga
Rem 870 Super Mag
Ranger Youth 20Ga
Browning Buck Mark .22

Next Firearm:
Lever Action .357Mag

Postby froughtie » Thu, 12 Nov 2015 23:08:33

allingeneral wrote:Believe you need to appeal the decision within 21 days. Read through the information at the following link and follow some of the links within to review specific Code of Virginia laws.

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/Firearms_Res ... htm#Denied